Title: Open Reduction Internal Fixation

Cat#: ARTPL-120
Format: CD / Digital

Release Date: 2019.10.11
Price(CD): 2,100 yen + tax

ドイツとモントリオールを股にかけ活動する男女デュオBlue Hawaiiが不慮のアクシデントを好機へと昇華させ完成させた極上の通算4作目!CDリリースは日本のみ!

モントリオールのアート・ロック〜エクスペリメンタル・ポップ・バンド、Braidsのメンバーで、近年はMax CooperやJon Hopkinsの作品にフィーチャーされるなど、そのヴォーカル・パフォーマンスはジャンルを超えて高い評価を得ているRaphaelle ‘Ra’ Standellと、現在はベルリンを拠点に活動しているAlexander ‘Agor’ Kerbyによるデュオ・プロジェクト、Blue Hawaii。2017年に『Tenderness』をリリースし、2018年秋に東南アジアと日本をツアーする予定だったものの、Agorがドイツでかかとを骨折したことでツアーは中止となり、代わりに、彼は治療のためにモントリオールに戻ることとなった。本作のタイトル『Open Reduction Internal Fixation』はそれが題材となっている。



Blue Hawaii have been recording and releasing music for almost a decade. You would think it’d be clockwork by now, but their fourth record, “Open Reduction Internal Fixation”, has proved to be anything but. Spanning genres as diverse as trance, acoustic, UK garage, trip-hop and house, its core elements are lighthearted and groovy. But oddly, “Open Reduction Internal Fixation” was born out of unfortunate circumstance. The duo were scheduled to tour through Southeast Asia & Japan in Autumn ’18 but plans changed suddenly when Agor smashed up his heel in Germany. Instead of the tour, he came back to Montreal for treatment – hence the title – “Open Reduction Internal Fixation”, the foot surgery he received.

Ra was going through her own challenges at this time, being on the heel end of a messy breakup – the kind where you almost get married and spend your life together only to find everything torched to ashes. Much like the surgery, that emotional rollercoaster also left her feeling torn open and fixated. The remedy: hit the club and make a record that makes you scream in joy at the speakers. Agor and Ra connected during their recovery periods, and through their different pains the tunes came together naturally, a healing through fun and friendship. Tied together with signature diva vocals, dreamy tones and liquid beats, “Open Reduction Internal Fixation” is the living proof of turning a bummer situation into a golden opportunity.

Blue Hawaii is a two person electronic project consisting of Ra and Ag, who met doing parties and shows in Montreal and continue to create together despite living in separate cities – split between Montreal and Berlin. “Open Reduction Internal Fixation” is their fourth LP and continues the thread of dreamy electronic pop and dance floor playability.


1. All The Things
2. Still I Miss U
3. All That Blue
4. Sparkle
5. On a High
6. Trust
7. Boileau
8. Can We Go Back


Related Post

BLUE HAWAII “Tenderness” Artist: BLUE HAWAII Title: Tenderness Cat#: ARTPL-094 Format: CD / Digital ※歌詞・対訳・解説付き ※ボーナス・トラック収録予定 ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 Release Date: 2017.10....
BLUE HAWAII “Untogether” Artist: BLUE HAWAII Title: Untogether Cat#: ARTPL-034 Format: CD / Digital ※歌詞・対訳・解説付き ※ボーナス・トラック2曲収録 Release Date: 2013.02.27 Price(CD):...
STEVE GUNN & DAVID MOORE “Reflections V... Artist: Steve Gunn & David Moore Title: Reflections Vol. 1: Let the Moon Be a Planet + Live in London Cat#: ARTPL-210 Format: 2CD / Digit...
SALAMANDA “In Parallel” Artist: Salamanda Title: In Parallel Cat#: ARTPL-208 Format: CD ※解説付き ※日本独自CD化 ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 Release Date: 2023.11.03 Price(CD): 2,200 ...