Artist: Teen Daze
Title: Themes For Dying Earth
Cat#: ARTPL-085
Format: CD / Digital


Release Date: 2017.01.25
2,000yen + tax

カナダのドリーム・ポップ才人、Jamison Isaakによるソロ・プロジェクト、Teen Dazeの、フル・アルバムとしては通算5作目となる新作が完成!これまでのキャリアの素養を見事に昇華した現時点での最高傑作と言える力作。
Sean Carey、Dustin Wong、Sound of Ceres、Nadia Hulett等が参加。

カナダのドリーム・ポップ才人、Jamison Isaakによるソロ・プロジェクト、Teen Dazeの、フル・アルバムとしては通算5作目となる新作が完成。

前作『Morning World』ではバンド編成となり、エモーショナルなインディ・ロック/ポップを聴かせたが、本作ではソロに戻り、ドラム、ベース、ギター、シンセ、エレピなど、ほぼ全ての楽器を自ら演奏し録音。そして、Sean Carey、Dustin Wong、Sound of Ceres、Nadia Hulettといった、自身が敬愛するミュージシャン達に声をかけ、多数のコラボ曲を制作。ミックス/マスタリングはJon Anderson。

サウンドはさらに洗練された印象のTeen Daze節のアンビエント・ドリーム・ポップで、参加したミュージシャン達の客演との相性も抜群。Phantom Posseのヴォーカリストである、Nadia Hulettの伸びやかなヴォーカルが彩りを添える「Lost」や、リリカルなシンセにDustin Wongの緩急の効いたエモーショナルなギターが浮かび上がる「Cherry Blossoms」、Bon Iverのバンド・メンバーでもあるS. CareyことSean Careyの美しくミニマルなパーカッションが印象的な「First Rain」、Candy Clawsのメンバー等によるSound of Ceresとのコラボで、彩り豊かなドリーム・ポップに仕上がった「Rising」など、多彩なサウンドが繰り広げられている。冒頭の「Cycle」から全体を通して、アコースティックな生音を主体にエレクトロニックなテイストが絶妙のバランスで解け合い、白昼夢のような美しくドリーミーな世界を紡ぎ出しており、哀愁漂うメロディとアトモスフェリックな浮遊感にぐいぐいと引き込まれる。


Teen Daze (Jamison Isaak) is a British-Columbia based artist and producer. He released his fifth LP Themes For Dying Earth on February 10th through his new label, FLORA.

After last year’s foray into vibrant indie-pop, Themes finds Teen Daze returning to more ambient, electronic production with new insight: “I learned so much from the experience making Morning World, it would be a step backwards if I didn’t apply it.” This comes through in songs like “Lost”, “Rising” and the first single, “Cycle”, which fuse the synthesized sound of early Teen Daze records with the live energy of his more recent works. Themes is also distinct in its collaborative nature. Jamison has worked with other artists in the past, but never to this degree and expanse: “Making the last record alongside other people helped me realize that inviting additional minds to the creative process brings out the best in me.”

Conceptually and thematically, this album is one of Jamison’s most personal, navigating topics both intimate and broad: “Much of my work is inspired by nature, and it’s scary to think that future generations may not have that same relationship. The album starts with Cycle, a song about my personal experience dealing with anxiety and depression, and it slowly zooms out to cover some of the external forces, like climate change, that are affecting those experiences. After touring last fall, I came home so cynical and worn out, I decided take all the nervous energy I had about the world, and filter it through more optimistic, positive sounds.”


01. Cycle
02. Dream Host
03. Becoming
04. Lost (with Nadia Hulett)
05. Cherry Blossoms (with Dustin Wong)
06. First Rain (with S. Carey)
07. Rising
08. Anew
09. Water in Heaven
10. Breath
11. An Alpine Fores (Bonus Track)


Related Post

TEEN DAZE “Interior” Artist: Teen Daze Title: Interior Cat#: ARTPL-163 Format: CD / Digital ※日本独自CD化 ※ボーナス・トラック1曲収録 Release Date: 2021.12.10 Price(CD): 2,2...
TEEN DAZE “Reality Refresh” Artist: Teen Daze Title: Reality Refresh Cat#: ARTPL-143 Format: CD / Digital ※日本のみでCD化 ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 Release Date: 2020.11.27 Price(CD)...
TEEN DAZE “Bioluminescence” Artist: Teen Daze Title: Bioluminescence Cat#: ARTPL-112 Format: CD / Digital ※ボーナス・トラック2曲収録 ※日本のみでCD化 ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 Release Date: 2019.04...
JAMISON ISAAK “Cycle Of The Seasons” Artist: Jamison Isaak Title: Cycle Of The Seasons Cat#: ARTPL-109 Format: CD / Digital ※日本のみでCDリリース ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 Release Date: 2018.12.0...