Artist: Foxes in Fiction
Title: Swung From the Branches
Cat#: ARTPL-060
Format: CD / Digital

Release Date: March 18, 2015
1,900yen + tax

かつてPitchforkにて「Atlas Soundの『Logos』の続編を、待ち切れずに自分で作ってしまったようだ」と絶賛されたFoxes in Fictionの傑作ファースト・アルバムが遂に日本のみでCD化

カナダのオンタリオ州トロント出身で、現在はブルックリンで活動しているWarren Hildebrandによるソロ・プロジェクト、Foxes in Fiction。Owen Pallettも全面参加した昨年の最新作『Ontario Gothic』も話題となったが、自身のレーベル、Orchid Tapesの第一弾として2010年にデジタルのみでリリースしていた傑作ファースト・アルバム『Swung From the Branches』のヴァイナル・リリースがこのたび決定し、日本ではPLANCHAからCD化が決定。

Deerhunterの「Tape Hiss Orchid」という曲目から名前を取り、自らのレーベル名をOrchid Tapesにしたことからも分かるように、Bradford Coxの大ファンであるWarrenは、彼のソロ・プロジェクト、Atlas Soundに多大なる影響を受けて本作を制作している。2008年に自身の弟が16歳の若さでこの世を去るという衝撃の事象から相当な精神衰弱に陥ったという彼にとって、当時Brian EnoやAtlas Soundといったアーティストによるアンビエント・ミュージックを聴くことだけが心の拠り所だったようだ。そしてこのアルバムはネットを介して話題となり、インディペンデントのセルフ・デジタル・リリースながらPitchforkにて「Atlas Soundの『Logos』の続編を、待ち切れずに自分で作ってしまったようだ」と絶賛された。


The album was recorded using Ableton 7 and 8 and a 4-track Akai reel to reel. The basis for all of the music on Side A of the was created in about three nights using only a guitar, a looping pedal and a sampler. The only synthesizer that was used was on the bass notes in ‘Coffee Cups’, the bells in ‘Ninth Floor’ and the obvious room-recorded microkorg in ‘8 / 29 / 91’. The album cover is from a photo I found while working in a photolab that was taken in 1943, according to the date written on the back.

From Groovemine:

“This is the kind of music that is, essentially, perfect. Every nuance from the soothing reverb to the soft vocal delivery to the sputtering tape edits and buzz helps contribute to this breathy and ethereal sound. In a way that’s hard to explain, this album brings to mind a dark winter night in a quiet city; the carless streets amplify each echo, the twinkling stars seem to cast a bit of shimmer all over everything, and the enormous skyscrapers pale in comparison to the emotions the music brings out. It seems almost intentional that one of the more robust compositions on the album is titled “Sleeping Building Unsuspecting.””
released 19 February 2010


01. Operating Room
02. Basement Window
03. Thank You, Sunday Morning
04. Sleeping Building Unsuspecting
05. Coffee Cups That Won’t Break Down
06. Ninth Floor View
07. Cream Screen
08. 8 / 29 / 91
09. Mialectric (Side B Transition)
10. Bronte Balloons
11. New Panic Cure
12. Jimi Bleachball
13. Please Note
14. Snow Angels
15. 15 Ativan (Song For Erika)
16. To Go Home
17. Memory Pools
18. Insomnia Keys
19. Visiting Hours
20. Karma Bank*
21. 5-HTP*
22. Flashing Lights Have Ended Now*

* = Bonus Track



Related Post

FOXES IN FICTION “Trillium Killer” Artist: Foxes in Fiction Title: Trillium Killer Cat#: ARTPL-119 Format: CD / Digital ※ボーナス・トラック3曲収録 ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 ※CDは2週間先行発売 ※解説・歌詞対訳: 清水祐也 ...
FOXES IN FICTION “Ontario Gothic” Artist: Foxes in Fiction Title: Ontario Gothic Cat#: ARTPL-055 Format: CD / Digital ※ボーナス・トラック3曲収録 ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 ※日本のみでCD化 ※解説・歌詞対訳: 清水祐也 R...
STEVE GUNN & DAVID MOORE “Reflections V... Artist: Steve Gunn & David Moore Title: Reflections Vol. 1: Let the Moon Be a Planet + Live in London Cat#: ARTPL-210 Format: 2CD / Digit...
SALAMANDA “In Parallel” Artist: Salamanda Title: In Parallel Cat#: ARTPL-208 Format: CD ※解説付き ※日本独自CD化 ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 Release Date: 2023.11.03 Price(CD): 2,200 ...