Artist: Takako Minekawa & Dustin Wong 嶺川貴子&ダスティン・ウォング
Title: Toropical Circle トロピカル・サークル
Cat#: ARTPL-037
Format: CD / Digital
Territory: Worldwide

Release Date (CD: Japan / Digital: Worldwide): May 15, 2013
Release Date (CD: US, UK, Europe): June 4, 2013
Price(CD:JP): 2,200yen + 税


『Roomic Cube』、『Cloudy Cloud Calculator』で実験ポップを追求し、アルバムとしては『Maxi On』以来の13年ぶりとなる嶺川貴子とDustin Wongの共作である。すべて2人のセルフ・プロデュースにより制作された本作は、ホームメイドの温かさと、ファニーな実験感覚、そして両者の兼ね備えた 音楽的素養やヒューマニティが見事に合致したハート・ウォーミングな作品。ダスティンがギターとエフェクターで描き出すミニマル且つ夢幻的なサウンドと、 嶺川のささやくようなたおやかなヴォーカルやコーラスの融合を基軸に、キーボードやドラム・マシンやサンプリングも交えつつ、ループを駆使してカラフルな 世界を描き出す。コロコロと転がるようなメロディとナチュラルな転調が森林から海岸へと導くかのように、聴き手を緩やかに誘っていく。

Takako Minekawa explored the possibilities of experimental pop with albums like “Roomic Cube”, “Cloudy Cloud Calculator”, and “Maxi on”. It’s been 13 years since “Maxi On” and this upcoming album was made in collaboration with Dustin Wong. Dustin was the guitarist for the band Ponytail, and has released 2 solo records, “Infinite Love” and “Dreams Say, View, Create, Shadow Leads” through Thrill Jockey.

This collection of songs were completely produced and recorded by the two at home. The music strikes a lovely balance of homemade coziness and experimentation with charming humor . The two’s musicality and human qualities galvanized into something brilliantly heart warming.

Dustin Wong’s minimal yet imaginative surreal sound created through his guitar and pedals in combination with Takako Minekawa’s graceful and eloquent voice, and the use of sampling, drum machine and keyboards resulted into a colorful and fantastic world. The sounds roll and change organically, gently taking the listener by the hand through a forest and to the sea.


01. Party on a Floating Cake
02. Windy Prism Room
03. Circle has Begun (yorokobi humming)
04. Two Acorns’ dreams Growing as One
05. I Want to be with You
06. Swimming Between Parallel Times
07. Bell Tree Dancers
08. Enneagram Journey
09. New Circle was Begun
10. Story of Roots and Hands
11. Solar Glory
12. Electric Weave
13. Mirror Underwater in a Magic Lantern


Related Post

TAKAKO MINEKAWA & DUSTIN WONG “Savage I... Artist: Takako Minekawa & Dustin Wong Title: Savage Imagination Cat#: ARTPL-053 Format: CD / Digital ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 ※ボーナス・トラック2曲を追加収録 ※解説付...
LAUNDER “Happening” Artist: Launder Title: Happening Cat#: ARTPL-173 Format: CD ※解説・歌詞対訳: 加藤夏樹(Luby Sparks) ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 Release Date: 2022.07.15 Price(C...
DYLAN MOON “Option Explore” Artist: Dylan Moon Title: Option Explore Cat#: ARTPL-172 Format: CD / Digital ※解説・歌詞対訳: 清水祐也(Monchicon!) ※日本盤CDはLPと同じく15曲入り ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 ...
SALAMANDA “ashbalkum” Artist: Salamanda Title: ashbalkum Cat#: ARTPL-170 Format: CD / Digital ※日本独自CD化 ※ボーナス・トラック1曲収録 Release Date: 2022.06.10 Price(CD): 2...