Title: Landscapes
Cat#: ARTPL-021
Format: CD

Territory: Worldwide

Release Date: 2011.10.26
Price(CD): 2,000yen + 税

Ducktailsが2009年にリリースしていた名作セカンド・アルバムを世界初CD化! 昨年のWoodsとのカップリング・ジャパン・ツアーも盛り上がり、Dominoからのセカンド・アルバムのリリースも注目されているニュージャージーの 4人組、Real Estate。そのギタリストであり中心的存在である才人、Matthew Mondanileによるサイケデリック・ポップ・ソロ・プロジェクトDucktails が、Olde English Spelling Beeから2009年にリリースしていた名作の呼び声高いセカンド・アルバム『Landscapes』を世界初CD化!《500枚限定!》

昨年のWoodsとのカップリング・ジャパン・ツアーも盛り上がり、Dominoからのセカンド・アルバムのリリースも注目されているニュージャージーの4人組、Real Estate。そのギタリストであり中心的存在であるMatthew Mondanileによるサイケデリック・ポップ・ソロ・プロジェクト、Ducktails。 Not Not FunやOlde English Spelling Beeなどから作品をリリースし、最新作はWoods主宰のWoodsistからリリース。そしてPanda Bearとの共演や自主レーベルの設立なども話題となりました。 本作はDucktailsがOlde English Spelling Beeから2009年にリリースしていた名作の呼び声高いセカンド・アルバム『Landscapes』。ヴァイナルのみでリリースしていたこの作品をこのたび遂に世界初CD化!《500枚限定!》 リヴァービーで浮遊感のある独特のギターと打ち込みのビートを駆使し、オリエンタルなメロディや、エフェクトがかったヴォーカルを絡めて、カラフルでサイケデリックなポップから、ドライヴィンなガレージ、おぼろげで幻想的なアンビエント〜ドローンまでを横断。目くるめく音世界に引き込まれます。実験的なファーストとポップなサードのまさに中間に位置するような絶妙のバランス感の秀作です。是非この機会に! また、Ducktailsの次作はReal Estateに続き、Dominoからのリリースのようです!

Ducktails is the solo side project of Matthew Mondanile, a member of Ridgewood, NJ-based indie beach bums Real Estate. While not too dissimilar in tone from the sun-kissed pop of his main squeeze, Mondanile’s work as Ducktails presents a more fragmented, mercurial version of the Garden State of mind. More synthetic, too, than Real Estate, Ducktails is all burbling analog synths, bedroom processing, and sunburnt soundscapes. The end effect acts as a sort of bleary aural Polaroid taken at a backyard party Real Estate just finished playing. Mondanile’s output under the Ducktails moniker has been prolific and perhaps a tad illusory; he has released numerous ultra-rare cassettes and CD-Rs, a pair of 7″s, and a pair of “official” LPs (a self-titled album on Not Not Fun and Landscapes on Olde English Spelling Bee, both in 2009). In addition to playing in several other projects, including Predator Vision and the Parasails, Mondanile released a split with Dracula Lewis in 2010, before releasing Ducktails III: Arcade Dynamics, in 2011. The album took a more bare-bones approach, and marked a notable change in style for Ducktails.

“Stories are forever and i got to get back to PIPELINE, which is hitting the screen right now, and its definitely not about surfing and reminds charles of when Ebay and you stayed at the New York Dante’s microchip apartment and it was so hot and you guys passed out next to each other in your undies exclusively like siamese pipeline limbo style, if i had hoagie it would have been Chazzi to Chucky in like 4 doners and sixty seckies.”
—Charles Berlitz

Ducktails is the lo-fi bedroom pop pseudonym of New Jersey’s Matthew Mondanile, who also goes by the handle of Predator Vision on Not Not Fun. Over the last three years he’s dreamt up a steady stream of largely cassette only gems which squarely fall into the Hypnagogic Pop style identified by the Wire magazine in mid-2009. ‘Landscapes’ is a remarkable collection of raw-finished pop reminisces with a vivid sheen of washed-out summery euphoria strongly reminding of Ariel Pink, but with a psychoactive chemistry all of its own. We’ve been a bit slow on the uptake with this stuff but we’re fairly blown away by the lost 80’s American dreamscape feel of it all and urge you to check it without fail. Hugely recommended!!!


01. On the Boardwalk 4:28
02. Landrunner 2:49
03. Roses 3:35
04. Welcome Home (I’m Back) 3:14
05. Deck Observatory 5:46
06. Spring 2:57
07. Oh, Magnolia Tree 2:21
08. Wishes 3:38
09. Seagull’s Flight 6:01
10. House of Mirrors 5:54

Related Post

LAUNDER “Happening” Artist: Launder Title: Happening Cat#: ARTPL-173 Format: CD ※解説・歌詞対訳: 加藤夏樹(Luby Sparks) ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 Release Date: 2022.07.15 Price(C...
DYLAN MOON “Option Explore” Artist: Dylan Moon Title: Option Explore Cat#: ARTPL-172 Format: CD / Digital ※解説・歌詞対訳: 清水祐也(Monchicon!) ※日本盤CDはLPと同じく15曲入り ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 ...
SALAMANDA “ashbalkum” Artist: Salamanda Title: ashbalkum Cat#: ARTPL-170 Format: CD / Digital ※日本独自CD化 ※ボーナス・トラック1曲収録 Release Date: 2022.06.10 Price(CD): 2...
KATE BOLLINGER “Look at it in the Light̶... Artist: Kate Bollinger Title: Look at it in the Light Cat#: ARTPL-171 Format: CD ※日本独自CD化 ※ボーナス・トラック2曲収録 ※解説・歌詞・対訳付き Release Date: 2022.0...