Artist: TOPS
Title: Sugar At The Gate
Cat#: ARTPL-087
Format: CD / Digital

※解説・歌詞・対訳: 清水祐也(Monchicon!

Release Date: 2017.06.02
Price(CD): 2,000 yen + tax



これまでで最も野心に満ちたアルバムという本作は、引き続きバンドのセルフ・プロデュース。TOPSの持ち味であるレトロ且つセンチメンタルなムードや心地よいメロディはそのままに、ぐっとスタイリッシュに洗練された印象。アンサンブルはシンプルながら、各音はタイト且つ的確に配され、ヴォーカリスト/ソングライターのJane Pennyの琴線に触れる伸びやかで美しいヴォーカルの魅力を見事に引き立たせている。




For Sugar At The Gate, their third and most ambitious album to date, Montreal’s TOPS peaced out to LA. They lived and recorded at “Glamdale”, a mini-mansion and former brothel located in the Jewel City, Glendale, CA. The unassuming record unfolds slowly, taking time to reveal itself. Like nearly everything TOPS does, multiple meanings overlap with the album’s title referring to orgasm, but also to carrot chasing, gatekeeping, and the social contract.

Vocalist-songwriter Jane Penny, at this point one of the most distinctive vocalists of her generation, took time during the recording learning how to drive in the Forest Lawn Cemetery parking lot. “Living in LA was living out a teenage fantasy, living with your band and practicing in the garage. It was also the first time we’ve ever had that much space to make music. I took the experience of living LA as a challenge to make music that I know is real to me, in the sense of it feeling true and containing true feelings, but also recordings of great songs, the real thing.”

Jane Penny and David Carriere (guitarist-songwriter) contributed to the album’s lyrics as much separately as together. Both their perspectives are heartfelt, with Penny’s sometimes cryptic lyrics betraying something of her unconscious.

Layers of sarcasm and sincerity seem to enfold the group like flower petals. Irrepressible jokers in conversation, their album’s vinyl download codes come folded up inside drug baggies. TOPS’ flawless musicianship and profound grasp of pop fundamentals are the surest sign that at the core, it’s all as real as it sounds.

All of TOPS recordings have been produced by the band, who have self recorded the majority of their work to date. Riley Fleck’s distinct and controlled drumming style is key to the arrangements on Sugar at the Gate. A sensitivity in his playing and strong sense of discretion is a distinguishing feature of TOPS’ sound.


01. Cloudy Skies
02. Further
03. Petals
04. Dayglow Bimbo
05. Marigold & Gray
06. Cutlass Cruiser
07. Hours Between
08. I Just Wanna Make You Real
09. Seconds Erase
10. Topless
11. Echo Of Dawn (Bonus Track)

Related Post

TOPS “I Feel Alive” Artist: TOPS Title: I Feel Alive Cat#: ARTPL-131 Format: CD / Digital ※解説・歌詞・対訳:清水祐也(Monchicon!) ※ボーナス・トラック1曲収録(CD) ※ダブル紙ジャケット仕様 Release Da...
ASA TONE “Live at New Forms” Artist: Asa Tone Title: Live at New Forms Cat#: ARTPL-161 Format: CD / Digital ※日本独自CD化 ※正方形紙ジャケット仕様 Release Date: 2021.11.19 Price(...
TEEN DAZE “Interior” Artist: Teen Daze Title: Interior Cat#: ARTPL-163 Format: CD / Digital ※日本独自CD化 ※ボーナス・トラック1曲収録 Release Date: 2021.12.10 Price(CD): 2,2...
MR TWIN SISTER “Al Mundo Azul” Artist: Mr Twin Sister Title: Al Mundo Azul Cat#: ARTPL-162 Format: CD / Digital ※日本独自CD化 ※解説・歌詞・対訳付き予定 Release Date: 2021.12.03 Price...